Seven Waves – Paul Harrigan


A soundscape composed and arranged in the Donegal style by Paul Harrigan for the art installation, Seven Waves, by Erland Brown and Dave Jackson.

Add to wishlist

    From the Inishowen Peninsula in Co. Donegal, Paul Harrigan is a multi-instrumentalist. He has toured and performed with artists including Lúnasa, Shane McGowan, Terry Woods, The Pogues, Ronnie Drew and the late Mícheál Ó Súilleabháin.

    A specially commissioned soundscape for the art installation, Seven Waves, by Erland Brown and Dave Jackson, this album features seven movements, written for uilleann pipes and two fiddles. It aims to reflect the sequence of events in the St. Magnus saga and strongly influenced by the writings of George Mackay Brown’s Tryst on Egilsay whose poems are included in the booklet accompanying the CD.


    Track Listing:

    1. Movement 1 – Earl Hakon
    2. Movement 2 – Helmsman
    3. Movement 3 – The Killers
    4. Movement 4 – The Death of Magnus
    5. Movement 5 – The Egilsay Priest
    6. Movement 6 – The Men of Egilsay
    7. Movement 7 – The Two Tinkers



    • Paul Harrigan – uilleann pipes and fiddles
    • Roisin McGrory – fiddle

    Released December 2021 

    Recorded and produced by Paul Harrigan at White Stone Studio, Letterkenny, Co Donegal
    Additional Recording by Neil McGrory at Macruari Audio, Culdaff, Inishowen, Co. Donegal
    Mixed and Mastered by Neil McGrory at Macruari Audio


    The Digital Album (Streaming and Download) – including unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more – is available from Bandcamp for €10.

    The Digipak which combines the Digital Album and a Compact Disc is available from Bandcamp for €15.