Old Ghosts In The Water – S.J. McArdle

Add to wishlist

    S.J. McArdle is a songwriter and musician. He is known in part for his former work with the trio, Kern, and the recently formed Long Woman’s Grave project with Nuala Kennedy and Trevor Hutchinson. This is his fourth album, following on from Lancelot (2003), Year of the Tiger (2006) and Blood and Bones (2021) and an EP, Green Tea and the Black Monkey (2002). He made two albums with Kern which feature a number of his compositions as well as traditional songs and tunes: False Deceiver (2016) and The Left and the Leaving (2019) – the latter includes two tracks which feature on the new album, The Porcupine and Little Things


    Track Listing:

    1. All For The Sailing Tomorrow
    2. The Porcupine
    3. Island of St. Paul
    4. The Brig Manley 
    5. Little Things
    6. Fanny Clarke of Featherbed Lane
    7. Tidewaiter 
    8. Ann Marie/Silver Sail
    9. Jack
    • S.J. McArdle, guitar and vocals
    • Carol Keogh, vocals
    • Trevor Hutchinson, double bass
    • Graham Henderson, keyboards
    • Dermot Byrne, accordion
    • Nuala Kennedy, flute and piano
    • John Ruddy,
    • Barry Kieran, fiddle
    • Brendan McCreanor, uilleann pipes and low whistle
    Recorded and mixed by Trevor Hutchinson at Marguerite Studios
    Additional recording by Graham Henderson, SJ McArdle and Nuala Kennedy
    Produced by Trevor Hutchinson
    Released July. 2022
    Digital Album (Streaming + Download) – including unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more – is available from Bandcamp for €7.

    Digital Album and Compact Disc combined is available from Bandcamp for €15.